Being a child

As a 32-year old accountant IRL, people are often quite surprised to realise I live half my life as an orc.

And yes, I guess it is quite odd, even though I know many like me inside this online world.

One of the things I notice once in a while, is how people hide it IRL, afraid to acknowledge their inner geek, admitting they are a child deep within.

I’m not sure I follow why.

I got my very first accountant job due to playing WoW – turned out my boss was hardcore raider.

I got my current job due to being a computer geek – turned out they lacked a computer savvy person.

And yes, I brought my Frostwolf plushie to work the other day, they chuckled a bit with me, and accepted that I, as a 32 year old accountant had brought a toy with me for work.

And sure, my intern sitting infront of me, shaked her head a little as I took a picture of my Frostwolf using an old calculator, but it was fun nonetheless.

I believe, the world would be a better place, if we all just remembered the joy of being a child and playing once more.

And yes, I cry after roleplay, as I get so attached to the various chars people build up, it’s so sad when they die in-char, I jump half a meter in the couch from a simple shock-effect in a horror movie, and I turn in my chair to avoid falling down a cliff in WoW. But I love my imagination, and I am proud of it!

I dare you all, to enter the biggest toystore nearby, today, and immerse yourself into the world. Play with the toys, act silly, run through the shop with an “elephant trunk” making elephant noises. Try it. Release the adult stress and forget anything which troubles you, even if just for a second.

It’s liberating.

About Zugrah

The player behind Zugrah Arrowsplitter: I am a 33 year old woman, living in Denmark. I've played wow since spring 2005, and met my husband ingame shortly after. I am currently sitting on around 900 /played days, and can't imagine a life without WoW. I am an accountant IRL. My blog will be a mix of WoW and Roleplay. Feel free to join in with a comment. Thanks for your interest in my blog.

Posted on 4. February 2015, in Random thoughts, World of Warcraft - Roleplay! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Haha! I love this, I’m the same…I plan to never grow up xD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment